Honk If You Love Stieglitz (One Picture Book)

Stu Levy

2012

Signed

£35.00

In stock

Book Information

Original Title Honk If You Love Stieglitz (One Picture Book)
Categories:, ,
Author:
Publisher:

SKU: SBID_00135456 Tags: , , , , ,

Description

Honk If You Love Stieglitz by Stu Levy. First impression (no 164 of 500 copies) of this One Picture Book in new condition. This is a grid composite of images of photographer Jerry Uelsmann. Stu Levy has signed on the verso of the portrait in the middle. Please see pictures. PayPal accepted, any questions please get in touch.

About Honk If You Love Stieglitz

Stu Levy follows up on his previous One Picture Book #30 with a fold-out grid portrait of Jerry N. Uelsmann. Levy’s composites – in which multiple photographs of his subject, taken from various perspectives and distances, are combined to create one portrait – are the subject of his 2010 Nazraeli Press monograph “Grid Portraits.” The centerpiece of the grid portrait reproduced in this One Picture Book is a signed original print mounted to the sheet.

Artist Bio

“My photographs often involve fragile landscapes in which I feel a sense of timelessness. The landscape, however, is only my stimulus or point of departure. So, I ask the question, “What else is the landscape,” and it is the “what else” that I try to photograph.

I also create “Grid-Portraits” of artists and craftsmen. Using several images contact printed together, a space and time scan is made of the subjects in their environments. In addition, references are made to the making of the photograph and to my own interaction with the subjects as I explore the process of perception and visual synthesis.

In 1995 I also printed 82 vintage Minor White negatives of two Victorian houses for the permanent collection of the Portland Art Museum and for publication in the book “Heritage Lost”, published by the Oregon Historical Society and the Portland Art Museum.” – Stu Levy

Related Links

More books by Stu Levy here.

Browse our extensive collection of One Picture Books by Nazraeli Press here.

More books by Nazraeli Press here.

Additional information

Weight 0.4 kg