The Cement Garden

by Ian mcewan



The Cement Garden by Ian McEwan. First edition (1978). First impression. Medium format hardback in fine condition. Signed by Ian McEwan to title page. Minor shelf wear to boards and jacket. Some toning to spine of jacket. Dust jacket now in removable protective sleeve. No internal markings. Please see pictures. PayPal accepted, any questions please get in touch.

About The Cement Garden

So, in the arid summer heat, four children – Jack, Julie, Sue and Tom – find themselves abruptly orphaned. All the routines of childhood are then cast aside as the children adapt to a now parentless world. Alone in the house together, the children’s lives twist into something unrecognisable as the outside begins to bear down on them.

Artist Bio

Ian McEwan’s works have earned him worldwide critical acclaim. He won the Somerset Maugham Award in 1976 for his first collection of short stories First Love, Last Rites; the Whitbread Novel Award (1987) and the Prix Fémina Etranger (1993) for The Child in Time; and Germany's Shakespeare Prize in 1999. He has been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction numerous times, also winning the award for Amsterdam in 1998. His novel Atonement received the WH Smith Literary Award (2002), National Book Critics' Circle Fiction Award (2003), Los Angeles Times Prize for Fiction (2003), and the Santiago Prize for the European Novel (2004). Atonement was also made into an Oscar-winning film.

Related Links

More books by Ian McEwan here. More books by Jonathan Cape here.
Publisher jonathan cape